Successful KZN Hubs tournament draws to a close

Durban – The regional Sunfoil KZN DSR Hubs Tournament came to a close earlier this week with the fifteen hub team from across the province enjoying four days of exciting cricket action which lead to the selection of two teams for the Sunfoil KZN DSR Elite Tournament on the go until Friday.

The tournament featured Under 15 and Under 19 teams from the various hubs around the province and the standard of cricket was high once again as Michaelhouse in the KZN Midlands played host to four days of exciting cricket.

There were a number of stand-out players through both the Under 15 and Under 19 age categories and these players will have crucial roles to play at the Sunfoil KZN DSR Elite Tournament which follows the Hubs Tournament.

In the Under 15 tournament the leading run scorer was Romashin Pillay who notched up a total of 120 runs.

The player of the tournament award for the Under 15 division went to Vumani Magwaza who took eight wickets and scored 94 runs.

Philani Ngayi was the pick of the bowlers throughout the four games when he bagged eleven wickets with best figures of six for 17.

In the Under 19 division Kyle Chinakoo from the KwaDukuza Hub was the pick of the batsmen with 257 runs in three games with an average of 82 and a top score of 100 not out.

Bonga Shezi from the Chatsworth Hub was the top bowler in the Under 19 Tournament. He took nine wickets in three games with best figures of 3 for 12.

The player of the tournament in the Under 19 age category was Mohamed Taqvi. He scored 193 runs with the bat and took five wickets.

The two KZN sides have been selected to take on teams from around the country in the Sunfoil KZN DSR Elite Tournament.

The tournament includes Under 15 and Under 19 teams from Western Province while there are teams from Eastern Province, Border, Easterns and Gauteng.

“It was amazing to see the passion with which these boys embraced this opportunity and we remain extremely grateful for all our loyal stakeholders who make this cricketing dream a reality,” CEO of KZN Cricket Heinrich Strydom said.

Sane Mzimela, Hubs/RPC Development Manager at KZN Cricket, was happy with how the first tournament finished and is looking forward to seeing how the players fair against opposition from around the country.

“It was very exciting to see the talent that we have in our province on display and the boys learnt a lot from the tournament,” she said.

“They have gone all out to showcase their talent but they have also made a number of new friends which is also what the tournament is about.

“We look forward to seeing how our teams go in the second tournament.”

Sunfoil KZN DSR Hubs Under 19 side:
Kyle Chinakoo, Abbu Haffajee, Ayanda Mqadi, Nkululeko Msibi, Akhilesh Maharaj, Sizwe Ntanzi, Rakishi Maharaj, Bonga Shezi, Ntokozo Shandu, Sthembele Sibisi, Mohammed Taqvi, Andile Zondi.

Sunfoil KZN DSR Hubs Under 15 side:
Aryan Gopalan, Melusi Hadebe, Khetho Khuzwayo, Mbuso Luthuli, Vumani Magwaza, Sbonga Mchunu, Philani Nqayi, Romashin Pillay, Ubayd Shaik, Sohan Sukuram, Andile Wanda, Zimele Zuma.