Four new contracts awarded for 2019/20 season

Durban – With the pre-season around the corner for the Hollywoodbets Dolphins following a strong 2018/19 campaign, four new full contracts have been awarded while two players have shifted from rookie to full contracts ahead of the 2019/20 season.

Batsman Marques Ackerman, wicket-keeper Grant Roelofsen, and bowlers Daryn Dupavillon and Keith Dudgeon have been given contracts while Okuhle Cele and Smangaliso Nhlebela have upgraded from rookie deals to full contracts.

The Dolphins will go into the new season without the services of stalwarts Morné van Wyk and Mthokozisi Shezi who both retired from the game at the end of the season. Dane Vilas will also not be returning to the Dolphins and will remain in the UK at the end of the current County Championship season.

“We must firstly thank the outgoing players for all that they have done for the Dolphins franchise over the years,” CEO of KZN Cricket Heinrich Strydom said.

“Morné (van Wyk) has been a vital member of the side for a number of years and has been an example for younger players coming through the system.

“His professionalism and passion for the game and the Dolphins brand are traits we hope all our players can emulate.

“Shezi has also contributed hugely to KZN Cricket and has been part of the bowling attack for many seasons. The knowledge that he has been able to pass on to the younger players is invaluable.

“Dane has been with us for two seasons and he has been the ultimate team player. Always putting the team first and contributing hugely with the bat and behind the stumps.

“These players are going to be missed and we wish them the best for the future.”

Both rookie players, Smangaliso and Okuhle, have been upgraded to full contracts following another season of solid performances and we look forward to seeing them fulfil their potential.

Having burst on to the scene and recently having won Newcomer of the Year at the Hollywoodbets Dolphins awards Marques Ackerman was awarded one of the available contracts.

Wicket-keeper Grant Roelofsen has been part of the Dolphins red-ball set up for the past season and was the next in line when it came to taking the gloves, and with the departure of two keepers the spot in the squad opened up for the Hollywoodbets KZN Inland star.

Daryn Dupavillon recently returned to the Dolphins set-up after a full season with the Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal side and made an immediate impact on his return to regain the contract that he lost due to a string of unfortunate injuries.

Following two strong seasons in the KZN Coastal side where he shone with the ball which led to a Hollywoodbets Dolphins debut in the CSA 4-Day Franchise Series, Keith Dudgeon has been awarded his first full franchise contract.

“We are hugely excited about the young players that have moved into the slots that have been left open,” Strydom added.

“Marques proved that he is ready for franchise cricket; Grant is an exciting wicket-keeper/batsman who has scored plenty of runs for Inland and Keith has been the most consistent bowler for the Coastal side.

“It’s also great to have Daryn back in the mix especially after his run of injuries. He showed his impressive pace and ability when drafted back into the Dolphins side at the end of the season.

“We are excited to see all of these players contribute next season.

“From an amateur perspective we are fortunate to welcome Proteas wicket-keeper/batsman Mangaliso Mosehle at Hollywoodbets KZN Inland while SA Under 19 star Thamsanqa Khumalo has signed his first contract with Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal.”

Marques Ackerman, Eathan Bosch, Okuhle Cele, Cody Chetty, Keith Dudgeon, Daryn Dupavillion, Sarel Erwee, Robert Frylinck, Sibz Makhanya, Kerwin Mungroo, Senuran Muthusamy, Smanga Nhlebela, Grant Roelofsen, Calvin Savage, Prenelen Subrayen, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Khaya Zondo, Lwandiswe Zuma.

Blayde Capell, Khalipha Cele, Michael Erlank, Yves Kamanzi, Thamsanqa Khumalo, Thula Ngcobo, Jason Oakes, Zakariya Paruk, Bradley Porteous, Mishkal Ramsaroop, Jason Wagener.

Gareth Dukes, Tyron Koen, Kishun Kushen, Kurtlyn Mannikam, Athi Maposa, Nduduzo Mfoza, Mangaliso Mosehle, Ruhan Pretorius, Luke Schlemmer, Joel Veeran, Stabiso Zungu.

Follow the Hollywoodbets Dolphins on social media
Twitter: @DolphinsCricket
Instagram: @DolphinsCricket
Hasthtag: #BringItIn