About KZN Inland

The KZNCU’s Inland jurisdiction covers by far the largest landmass in KZN, stretching from Zululand in the north to East Griqualand in the south, and the provincial boundaries of Mpumalanga, Free State, Lesotho and the Eastern Cape in the west, and in the east, a line following the eastern boundaries of the Sisonke, uMgungundlovu, Umzinyathi and Zululand district municipalities.For ease of administration, the KZNCU Inland jurisdiction closely follows the district municipality demarcations of Zululand, Umzinyathi, Amajuba, uThukhela, Sisonke and uMgundundlovu.

Each of the six districts is represented by sub-unions that are affiliated to the KZNCU Inland. The set-up is dominated by the Maritzburg Cricket Association and Midlands Cricket Union (uMgungundlovu), while the East Griqualand Cricket Union and the Southern District Cricket Union comprise Sisonke, Northern District Cricket Union (Amajuba), Umzinyathi Cricket Association (Umzinyathi), Northern Natal Cricket Board (uThukela) and the Northern District Cricket Union in Zululand make up the other sub-unions.


Home of Cricket in the Interior

The epicentre of cricket in the KwaZulu-Natal interior is Pietermaritzburg that boasts a proud tradition dating back more than 100 years. Among its long-standing clubs are Zingari (128 years), Maritzburg Cricket Club and Standard Cricket Club (both 124 years), and Young Natalians Cricket Club (80 years).

The city has provided a number of South Africa’s greatest cricketers from both sides of the previous racial divide – Jackie McGlew, Roy McLean, Cuan McCarthy, Chris Burger, Jonty Rhodes, Ahmed Deedat, Gopaul Manicum and Michael Patricks.

The city boasts a proud heritage in the struggle for non-racial cricket, exemplified by the Aurora Cricket Club, and a township coaching programme dating back to the 1970s. The city also played a formative part in the anti-Gatting Tour demonstration that was the impetus for the unification of South African cricket.

The Pietermaritzburg Oval hosted numerous international matches, including a rugby match that featured the New Zealand All Blacks against Natal in 1828. According to historic records, the first cricket match was played at The Oval in the summer of 1903.

In this regard, South Africa’s first official inter-provincial day-night match took place in Pietermaritzburg at the Jan Smuts Stadium on February 25, 1985.

The Oval

The City of Pietermaritzburg has every reason to be proud of the home of cricket in the interior of KZN. Anchored by its iconic red-brick pavilion and framed by more than a 100 London plane trees on the banks, the Oval lays claim to being one of the most picturesque grounds in the country.

Speaking of trees, the custodians over the years have gone to great lengths to plant trees in commemoration of notable feats, as a walk along the banks flanking the boundary will attest.

Of particular significance is a giant Indian Mahogany inside the boundary, one of only two such instances world-wide, that adds a charming touch to the ground. To deal with the technicalities of scoring, any ball that hits the tree is counted as a four!

Given the ground’s magnificent ambience, not to mention its quant touches, it is perhaps not surprising that the Oval exerts a talismanic effect on the Sunfoil Dolphins who love playing here. Aiding the cause is a picture perfect pitch that plays true and consistent.