Strong blend in Dolphins Champions League squad

The South African RAM Slam T20 champions, the Sunfoil Dolphins, have released their squad to do battle in the Oppo Champions League T20 franchise competition that gets under way in India on 17 September.

The Sunfoil Dolphins campaign, which is their first ever taste of the global T20 tournament, begins on 20 September against the Perth Scorchers in Mohali.

The 15 man squad selected by RAMSlamWicketthe coaching staff includes a good blend of youth and experience with a number of youngsters gaining a taste of international cricket for the first time.

The side will be captained by stalwart Morne van Wyk who provided a much needed boost to the side following his move from the Free State at the beginning of last season. Amongst the senior players Daryn Smit, Robbie Frylinck, Vaughn van Jaarsveld and Craig Alexander will be expected to guide the more junior players when they begin their quest in Mohali.

The side also includes a trio of exciting young talent with seamer Daryn Dupavillon and all-rounders Andile Phehlukwayo and Bongumusa ‘Sibs’ Makhanya being selected for the squad. The pair of Phehlukwayo and Makhanya are currently in the United Kingdom taking part in a series against England with the South African Under 19 side.

Proteas seamer Kyle Abbott will be back in Dolphins colours after his exploits in Zimbabwe with the national one day side. Abbott was the stand-out performer in the RAM Slam T20 final against the Cape Cobras last season with the ball and will be a vital cog in the attack at the upcoming Champions League.

Sunfoil Dolphins bit-hitter David Miller has elected to play for his Indian Premier League franchise the Kings XI Punjab and the Dolphins would like to wish the swashbuckling star all the best for the tournament.

The squad:

Daryn Smit, Daryn Dupavillon, Cody Chetty, Vaughn Van Jaarsveld, Khayelihle Zondo, Robert Frylinck, Morne Van Wyk (C), Kyle Abbott, Craig Alexander, Jonathan Vandiar, Keshav Maharaj, Prenelan Subrayen, Cameron Delport, Andile Phehlukwayo, Bongumusa Sibonelo Makhanya.

Support Staff: Lance Klusener (Head coach), Rivash Gobind (Assistant Coach), Brett Edwards (Physiotherapist), Jesse Chellan (Team manager), Anderson Ndovela (Liason Officer), Faeez Jaffar (President), Brett Proctor (Media Manager), Christoffel Spies (Mental coach).