KZNCU and DDCU reward talented cricketers at Annual Awards

The KwaZulu Natal Cricket Union (KZNCU) and the Durban and Districts Cricket Union (DDCU) rewarded talented local cricketers at their Annual Awards ceremony for the 2014 2015 season.

The function, held this year at Jaipur Palace on Broadway in Durban North, was a glamorous affair as the two Unions recognized the achievements of cricket players from in and around Durban.

Prestigious guests who attended were the Honorable Mayor James Nxumalo and Guest of Honour, Oregan Hoskins, the current President of the South African Rugby Union (SARU).

Fa-eez Jaffar, President of KZNCU said, “Tonight is a small token of appreciation to thank our players, clubs, and administrators for another successful season. I would like to thank everyone who has assisted in taking the game of cricket to new heights. I applaud all administrators for making an effort of keeping their clubs a float in these tough economic times. Special mention to Crusaders Cricket Club for raising the KZNCU Club Cricket Flag high at the Club Championship.

“I would also like to appreciate the contribution of our sponsors, who investment for the growth of cricket in our province”.
“It’s also my pleasure to honour our respected guests Honorable Mayor James Nxumalo and Guest Speaker, Oregan Hoskins for addressing our guests by sharing their wisdom. We look forward to hosting you at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead, he concluded.

DDCU President, Rajesh Sookhay commented, “The Durban and Districts Cricket Union being the largest affiliate to the KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Union is fully committed to the value of Club cricket and will always endeavour to keep the culture of cricket alive within a community base. We will continue to put as much as possible into the Club’s that are affiliated to the Union as the crux of the work of promoting the game remains vested in the hands of these Club’s.

“Accordingly the Awards Evening celebrated on an Annual basis goes beyond a celebration of winners but encapsulates the recognition of people that have worked together as a unit to give recognition to the true spirit of cricket.”

Captain, Morne van Wyk walked away with Dolphins Player of the Season and Andre Pretorius was honored by KZNCU President, Faeez Jaffar, with the KZN Presidents Awards for his contribution to the development of cricket in KZN rural areas.

“Awards events are such memorable occasions. It is a time for us to look back at the season past, and recognize the valuable contributions made not only by our cricketers, but also the support structures that make cricket in our province possible. This includes our coaches, ground staff, umpires, scorers and administrators”, said Pete de Wet, CEO of KZNCU.

“Tonight is that occasion where we as Union take a moment to reflect on the successes of the past season, and acknowledge the great work done on and off the field, in our sport in the province”, added de Wet.

Under 11 North: DHS Rhythm 1
Under 11 South: Umbilo Harlequins
Under 11 West: Delta 2
Under 13 North: Delta 1
Under 13 South: Umlazi
Under 15 North: DHS Rhythm 1
Under 15 South: Chatsworth Sporting
Township Team of the Season: Umlazi Cricket Club

Wade Award: Crusaders
Bertie Shire Award: Crusaders
Division 6:Delta 6
Division 5:ACC5
Division 4:DHS Rhythm 6
Division 3:Topham 3
Division 2:*Umbilo Harlequins 4
Division 1: Crusaders 3
Challenge Reserve 20/20: Simplex RHCSC 2
Challenge Reserve League : Umbilo Harlequins 2
Premier Reserve 20/20: Crusaders 2
Premier Reserve League: Crusaders 2
DDCU Presidents Award: Crusaders

Groundsman of the Season: Sbu Khubone
Deaf Cricketer of the Season: Avinash Kalicharan
Intellectually Impaired Cricketer: Nikesh Reddy
SA Rural Team: Neill Jordaan
Stephan Joubert
SA Women’s Team:Trisha Chetty, Nadine Moodley
Proteas Team: David Miller, Imran Tahir, Kyle Abbott, Morne Van Wyk, Ryan McLaren
Scorer of the Season: Shanna Hughes
Academy Player of the Season: Kyle Ian Simmonds
Junior Coach of the Season:Trevor Kietzman
Club Coach of the Season: Fabian Lazarus
Provincial School Coach of the Season: Dinesha Devnarain
KFC Mini Cricket Coach of the Season: Thobekile Mkhize

KZN Umpires
Rookie’s Award: Barry Oosthuizen
Most Improved Umpire: Maddy Marase
Umpire of the Year: Pius Nkosi
Meritorious Award: Sagren Naidoo

Township Awards:
U11 Player of the Season: Lutendi Tsanwane
U13 Player of the Season: Thulani Chiliza
U14 Player of the Season: Samkelo Gasa
U15 Player of the Season: Wanda Mtolo
U17 Player of the Season: Nduduzo Mfoza
U19 Player of the season: Mlungiseleli Gcado

Castle Women League’s
Bowling Award: Catherine Pillay
Batting Award Mandi Kim Jones
20/20 Winner: Simplex RHCSC
League Winner: Chatsworth United

Castle Challenge League Stream 2
Bowling Award: Arshad Mahmood
Batting Award: Alveiro Nadasen
League: iLembe

Castle Challenge League Stream 1
Bowling Award: Salman Yacoob
Batting Award: Richard Wissing
League: UKZN

Castle Challenge League
20/20 Winner: UKZN

Castle Premier League
Bowling Award: Kyle Ian Simmons
Batting Award: Mike Alexander
20/20 Winner: Pinetown
League Winner: Crusaders

Dolphins/Provincial Awards:
U13 Player of the Season: Jean Luc Talbot
U15 Player of the Season: Daelen Fynn
U17 Rural Player of the Season: Riekert Viljoen
U17 Player of the Season: Tyron Koen
U19 Girls Player of the Season: Caitlin Downes
U19 Player of the Season: Jesse Smith
Senior Rural Player of the Season: Neill Jordaan
Women’s Player of the Season: Nikita Sole
Provincial Player of the Season: Senuran Muthusamy
Dolphins Player of the Season: Morné van Wyk
KZN Presidents Award: Andre Pretorius

* Denotes Joint Winners