KZN U13 side off to defend their Sunfoil Night Series title

The KwaZulu-Natal Sunfoil Township Development Under 13 teams leave for Gauteng this week to try and defend the title that they won in 2016 at the Sunfoil Under 13 Township Night Tournament.

The sixth edition of the tournament will once again prove to be an important stepping stone for a number of the players both as cricketers and as people, as they play against children from every part of the country.

The boys will have the pressure of defending their title to contend with, but that strain should disappear when the youngsters arrive at the University of Johannesburg Soweto Campus for their three days of cricket.

For a vast majority of the team, the Bidvest Wanderers would have been a cricket venue that they would have seen on television, but the players will have the opportunity to go to one of the country’s most iconic venues for the opening ceremony which will set the tone for what is sure to be another exciting tournament.

The games will follow the T20 format, with 10 teams will competing in two pools for the top prize over three days of cricket.

The participants have all been playing league cricket this season, with the top teams selected for the tournament. All the players will be hosted at Queens High School with 18 games played at UJ over three days, with the attraction of playing under floodlights sure to be uppermost in many of the young cricketer’s minds.

Along with the KZN side there will be teams representing the Gauteng Cricket Board from Alexandra, Central, Far West, South, Sedibeng and Soweto. There are also invitational sides from the Eastern Cape, North West and Northerns with school’s bursaries available for some of the top performers.

The Sunfoil Under 13 Township Night Tournament starts on Friday 17 March and ends on Sunday 19 March.

KwaZulu-Natal Sunfoil Township Development Under 13 Squad:
Vumani Magwaza (Kwamashu), Pride Buthelezi (Kwamashu), Lutendi Tswanani (Umlazi), Khulekani Mseleku (Ngonyameni), Andile Wanda (Umlazi), Khethukuthula Khuzwayo (Kwadabeka), Nkanyiso Nxumalo, (Lindelani), Sbonga Mchunu (Umlazi), Khwezi Jali (Kwadabeka), Minenhle Ntobela (Ngonyameni), Sanele Nozisali (Lindelani), Sonwabile Sosibo (Kwamashu).

Head Coach: Khulekani Mtshali
Assistant Coach: Jomo Mbili
Manager: Siyabonga Gumede