KZN Cricket named KZN Federation of the Year

The KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Union enjoyed a golden evening at the KZN Sports Awards, hosted by the KZN Department of Sports and Recreation, as they overcame their fellow nominees to clinch the prestigious Federation of the Year Award.

The award signifies that KZNCU best accounted for the funds allocated to them by the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Sports and Recreation while they also provided a clear plan of growing and developing the sport in the community and in schools.

KZNCU edged out the likes of KZN Olympic Style Boxing, KZN Aquatics and KZN Chess.

“We are extremely proud to be recognised as the top federation in the province at such an auspicious occasion as the KZN Sports Awards,” said Fa-eez Jaffer, KZNCU President.

“Credit must be given to every stakeholder who contributes to the success of cricket in our province – from grassroots level right through to our franchise team.

“A special thank you to our Council, Management Committee, Chief Executive and all the staff of the KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Union for ensuring that we continue to serve cricket loving public of KwaZulu-Natal!” he added.

Sunfoil Dolphins CEO Pete de Wet echoed Jaffer’s sentiments, adding that the award adds to the long list of positive change both the franchise and the Union have enjoyed in recent months.

“It is amazing to be named the Federation of the year, when you consider all of the great work that all the federations do to ensure that sport in our province thrives,” said De Wet. “This is an honour, and something that we certainly will not take for granted!”

“It is especially encouraging to see that we are starting to make a positive move towards achieving our vision of being the number one cricket affiliate in South Africa.

“I would like to thank everyone involved in our sport in the province for their contribution, as it all counts towards our recognition tonight,” he added.

The KZN Sports Awards are an annual event with award winners decided by public vote as well as the input of a panel of independent adjudicators.

2015’s adjudicators were Bongani Yengwa (Durban University of Technology Lecturer for Sport Management and Sports Analyst), Zwelakhe Ngcobo (Isolezwe Weekend Sports Editor), Vicky Masuku (UKhozi FM Sports Presenter), Blanche Moila (Athlete, Administrator & Commentator), Nisha Rupnarain (Manager – Proteas Netball) and Tommy Ballantyne (Freelance Journalist).

The KZNCU weren’t the only of the province’s cricketing fraternity to be recognized at the evening’s awards function.

National Convener of Selectors, Linda Zondi was also nominated in the Administrator of the Year category while winners of the Momentum National Club Champs, Hollywoodbets Crusaders Cricket Club were one of three nominees in the Team of the Year category.