KwaMashu & Western Province dominate Sunfoil Township Tournament day 1 & 2

The opening two days of the eighth KZN Sunfoil Township Tournament started on a positive note at Hilton College, Pietermaritzburg as cheering team members added a buzz, excitement and passion to the strong individual on-field performances.
Split into two age groups – U15 and U19 – the tournament sees youth from townships around KwaZulu-Natal and the rest of the country competing on this prestigious stage.

In the U15 division, selectors were impressed by the early efforts of KwaMashu’s Samkelo Gasa who smashed his way to 93 not out and 94 runs respectively in his side’s opening two games on day one while Linda Mthembu from KwaDabeka shone with the ball as he claimed an impressive return of six wickets for just a single run in his 4 overs against Lindelani.

It was the visiting teams who impressed most with the ball in the younger section’s second day’s action with Kutlwano Mokwena from Griquas taking 7 wickets for just 4 runs in his 4 overs while Samkelo Gasa passed the half-century mark, finishing on 78 in KwaMashu’s clash against Free State.

In the U19 category it was Western Province’s Siphamandla Mavanda who made tournament history when he blitzed his way to 112 not out off just 67 balls.

After a tough opening day, KwaZulu-Natal’s host township’s U19 teams fought back well on the second day with Lungelo Dlamini from KwaMashu blundering his way to 71 with the bat.

“Hilton College are honoured to host and witness young South African cricketers, displaying their talents and enthral spectators with their exciting and positive brand of cricket,” said Peter Ducasse, Hilton College Headmaster.

“I am delighted that we can give our young aspiring cricketers the opportunity to play in conditions that allow batsmen and bowlers to demonstrate their skills and develop their game.”

Friday’s third and final day marks the end of the cricket week as well as the announcement of the Sunfoil Elite Squad that will train every Saturday during the third and fourth term and will play against traditional cricket schools.