Gcuma & Smith continue first-class umpiring journey

Cricket South Africa (CSA) recently announced the Umpires’ and Match Referees’ Panels for the 2015/16 season and Sunfoil Dolphins & KZNCU extended their heartiest congratulations to Babalo Gcuma and Dennis Smith for their reappointment to the CSA National First Class Panel.

CSA National First-Class Panel umpire Babalo Gcuma of KZN.
CSA National First-Class Panel umpire Babalo Gcuma of KZN.

Stephen Harris and Clifford Isaacs have been promoted from the Amateur Panel to the National First-Class Panel while there are also four newcomers to the Amateur Panel in Gladman Gaseba, Kevin Lawrence, Hassen Dawood and Bongani Ntshebe who have shown promise at the various select CSA tournaments.

At the top end of the spectrum Marais Erasmus serves on the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires while Johan Cloete, Shaun George and Adrian Holdstock are all members of the ICC International Panel of Umpires.

The National Match Referees panel is unchanged.

“Congratulations to all our umpires on their deserved appointments for next season,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat. “Umpires are central to the game of cricket and we are fortunate to have an extremely competent group of match officials.

“We will continue to create opportunities for them to develop through our exchange programmes with Australia, India and New Zealand.

“I would like to single out Brian Jerling, ‘The General’, as he is affectionately known. He has decided to call time after serving South African cricket for the past 27 years with distinction.

“As the then convener of selectors I recall his being one of the standing officials during the famous 438 One-Day International in 2006. That must have been one of his many personal highlights.

CSA National First-Class Panel umpire Dennis Smith of KZN.
CSA National First-Class Panel umpire Dennis Smith of KZN.

“We are sad to lose the services of Lourens Engelbrecht, who is standing down because of ill-health, and we thank him for his contribution to the game.”

2015/16 CSA National First Class Panel:
Murray Brown
Johan Cloete – ICC International Umpire
Marais Erasmus – ICC Elite Panel Umpire
Babalo Gcuma
Shaun George – ICC International Umpire
Stephen Harris – Promoted from Amateur Panel
Adrian Holdstock – ICC International TV Umpire
Clifford Isaacs – Promoted from Amateur Panel
Bongani Jele
Allahudien Paleker
Gerrie Pienaar
Dennis Smith
Brad White

CSA Amateur Panel:
Rudi Birkenstock
Hassen Dawood – New
Gladman Gaseba – New
Ryan Hendricks
Earl Hendrikse
Marlon Jansen
Kevin Lawrence – New
Lester Leendertz
Bryan Mantle
Jack Morton
Bongani Ntshebe – New
Stephen Rex
Jurie Sadler
Faizel Samsoodien
Abdoellah Steenkamp
Irvin Van Kerwel
Phillip Vosloo
Laurance Willemse
Jeff Wolhuter

National Match Referees Panel:
Tiefie Barnes
Devdas Govindjee
Barry Lambson
Shahid Wadvalla