Four KZN cricketers amongst National Academy intake

Durban – Cricket South Africa recently announced the names of the 2018 Powerade National Academy intake, and three men and one woman have been included in the player development programme. Hollywoodbets Dolphins players Smangaliso Nhlebela and Eathan Bosch as well as KZN Inland’s Kerwin Mungroo are amongst those who will partake in the programme that is set to take place from May 21 for the women’s programme and the following day for men.

Having started her career in the Rural Township Development Programme, Nondumiso Shangase is the only female player from KZN to be part of this year’s intake.

The programmes will run until July 27 – thereafter the SA Emerging men’s squad will be named for the tour of Sri Lanka in August.

KwaZulu-Natal Coastal coach, Roger Telemachus congratulated all the candidates on being selected in this once in a lifetime opportunity and commended Nhlebela mostly for being a committed player.

“He has had quite a few setbacks at the beginning of his cricket career, but managed to bounce back.

“He has been in form throughout the season and he takes his game seriously – with utmost dedication,” said Telemachus.

He further stated that programmes such as the Powerade National Academy are an important platform as they assist in shaping and grooming young cricketers.

“I believe that this is a useful platform as it teaches an aspiring cricketer about life in the game, but also life beyond cricket. It gives guidelines as to how they are supposed to conduct themselves and what they can expect after cricket.

“I was also part of the National Academy in its early days and the programme assisted me a lot in my cricket career, so I believe that it is a crucial platform for the upcoming cricket players,” added Telemachus.

He also said, without a doubt that these players, will one day represent South Africa.

In a statement, CSA General Manager, Corrie van Zyl commented that the Powerade National Academy Programme forms a very strategic part of the organisation’s developmental pipeline and has as its aim to prepare young players for the demands of professional cricket.

“This past year saw a highly successful SA Emerging Squad away series against Zimbabwe A and it has been highly encouraging to see the manner in which a number of them have gone on to the next level of making their franchise squads,” said Van Zyl in a statement.

The KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Union CEO, Heinrich Strydom, reiterated Telemachus’ words, congratulating all four candidates and stating the importance of this programme.

“These players have shown immense potential throughout their relatively short careers and have also stood out amongst their peers in the current domestic season with some incredible performances,” said Strydom.

“This prestigious academy will present these four players with the perfect opportunity to work on their various skill sets under the guidance of some world class coaches.

“We are proud of them all and will follow their progress with eager anticipation,” he added.

Powerade SA National Academy Men’s Squad: Ryan Rickleton (bizhub Highveld Lions), Jiveshan Pillay (Multiply Titans), Matthew Breezke (Warriors), Tony de Zorzi (Multiply Titans), Kagiso Rapulana (bizhub Highveld Lions), Raynard van Tonder (VKB Knights), Thsepang Dithole (bizhub Highveld Lions), Gary Mahlokana (Multiply Titans), Smangaliso Nhlebela (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Junaid Dawood (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Onke Nyaku (Warriors), Eathan Bosch (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Nandre Burger (bizhub Highveld Lions), Kerwin Mungroo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Mthiwekhaya Nabe (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Sinethemba Queshile (Warriors)

Powerade SA National Academy Women’s Squad: Palesa Mapoo (Gauteng), Nadia Mbokotwana (WP), Saarah Smith (WP), Nondumiso Shangase (KZN Coastal), Izel Cilliers (Free State), Anneke Bosch (North West), Robyn Searle (Gauteng), Tumi Sekhukhune (Easterns), Stacey Lackay (Boland), Gandhi Jafta (Border), Lara Goodall (WP), Tatum le Roux (WP), Zintle Mali (Border), Faye Tunnicliffe (Boland).