Dolphins prepare for second half of the Sunfoil Series

The Sunfoil Dolphins will return to white clothing when their second half of the 2015/16 Sunfoil Series gets underway with a clash against the Warriors in Port Elizabeth starting on Thursday, 3 March.

The Durban outfit has named a 13-man squad not dissimilar to the one that drew to the Cape Cobras in Durban in their final clash of the first half of the competition at the end of January.

Following on from his maiden List A hundred, scored for the Sunfoil Dolphins against The Unlimited Titans in the Momentum One Day Cup, Sarel Erwee put in a maiden First Class three figure performance, notching up 200 not out for KZN Inland against Namibia in the Sunfoil 3-Day Cup.

The left hander will be eager to continue his rich vein of form when he joins the returning Imraan Khan – back from a hamstring injury – at the top of the order.

Another notable inclusion in the squad after his injury layoff during the competition’s opening half is captain Morné van Wyk while Calvin Savage’s re-emergence from injury during the Momentum One Day Cup has paved the way for his return to the mix as well.

While Proteas David Miller and Imran Tahir are not included due to their involvement with the national side’s upcoming T20 series against Australia which kicks off at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead in Durban on Friday, 4 March, Mthokozisi Shezi continues his loan arrangement with the East Coast franchise while Jonathan Vandiar is included in the four day setup for the first time this season.

The Sunfoil Dolphins will be keen to put in a strong showing in the Eastern Cape against the bottom of the log Warriors later this week and improve on their fourth place log position as they look to chase down the likes of the VKB Knights, bizhub Highveld Lions and Titans who occupy third, second and first place respectively.

Sunfoil Dolphins squad:
Morné van Wyk (captain), Craig Alexander, Daryn Dupavillon, Sarel Erwee, Imraan Khan, Keshav Maharaj, Andile Phehlukwayo, Calvin Savage, Mthokozisi Shezi, Daryn Smit, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Jonathan Vandiar, Khaya Zondo, Roger Telemachus (coach), Yashin Ebrahim (coach)