Delport dropped for must-win RAM SLAM round-robin home straight

After a brace of disappointing performances by the Sunfoil Dolphins, the team’s brains trust has wielded the axe ahead of the side’s final three RAM SLAM T20 Challenge pool matches against The Unlimited Titans, Chevrolet Knights and bizhub Highveld Lions this week.
DelportTrainingExplosive opening batsman Cameron Delport is the player to feel the brunt of his recent run of poor form as he has been replaced in the squad by young Chad Bowes while fans will be pleased to see the return of top order batsman Cody Chetty to the squad following a brief spell on the side-lines following a hamstring injury.

A quick glance at the log ahead of this week’s final three rounds reveals that the Dolphins need to be on the favourable side of results in all of this week’s trio of games if they are to have a chance of qualifying for the play-offs.

The Dolphins’ fate is also no longer solely in their own hands as they are also forced to rely on other results going their way as well in order for them to finish within the top three on the log come Sunday evening.

The side’s inability to post imposing totals has been a major problem for the East Coast franchise of late, giving the bowlers very little to defend with the ball and a more measured approach to their innings may well see a change in the side’s fortunes in the run-in to the play-offs.

The Dolphins’ men will be hoping to give their fans something to smile about this week as they go about reeling in a knock-out position, starting with a trip to Benoni on Wednesday for their clash against the Titans at 18h00.

Sunfoil Dolphins v The Unlimited Titans (Benoni, Wednesday 16 November. 18h00) LIVE on SS2
Sunfoil Dolphins v Chevrolet Knights (Kimberly, Friday 28 November. 18h00)
Sunfoil Dolphins v bizhub Highveld Lions (Bloemfontein, Sunday 30 November. 10h00) LIVE on SS2

Sunfoil Dolphins squad: Morné van Wyk (c), Jonathan Vandiar, Cody Chetty, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Dwayne Bravo, Khaya Zondo, Robbie Frylinck, Andile Phehlukwayo, Prenelan Subrayen, Keshav Maharaj, Craig Alexander, Chad Bowes, Brandon Scullard, Mbasa Gqadushe.